My first Wiki

As Epictetis wrote in Stoic Philosopher (50-120):

Nothing great is created suddenly, any more than a bunch of grapes or a fig. If you tell me that you desire a fig. I answer you that there must be time. Let it first blossom, then bear fruit, then ripen.

The actions described by Epictetis characterizes the development process of my first Wiki. First, I had to find a subject to write about. To my surprise there was no Dutch wiki page on ‘locative media’, so that made the decission easy. I was going to make the world a better place by writing about ‘locative media’ on Wikipedia NL. Then I had to decide what I was going to write about & what writing style I was going to use. After a few days, I got the hang of the Wiki-writing & felt comfortable enough to post it (meanwhile I was hoping that no-one would steal my show as the ‘first’ author). I started writing the Wiki and didn’t read the manuals (of course). I had to get used to the interface of Wikipedia, because its a little different than other software programs like WordPress. But after some ups and downs, I was finished. HOERA!! My first Wiki!!! Now it’s up to you to check it out: http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Locative_media (FYI it’s in Dutch)

In the next couple of days I hope to see some changes in the content or design. It’s also possible that the whole page will be deleted, but I don’t think that will be the case. Time will tell what is going to happen to my first Wiki.

Leave a Reply

